86R33792 GM-D
  By: Kacal H.R. No. 1654
         WHEREAS, The football team from La Vega High School in Waco
  reached the pinnacle of success by winning the 2018 University
  Interscholastic League 4A Division 1 state championship; and
         WHEREAS, After closing out the regular season with seven
  straight victories, the Pirates maintained their momentum in the
  playoffs, defeating Lake Worth, Melissa, Paris, Argyle, and Decatur
  High Schools to advance to the December 21 state title contest; and
         WHEREAS, Competing in front of a crowd of more than 19,000 at
  AT&T Stadium in Arlington, La Vega faced off against Liberty Hill
  High School with the state championship on the line; after battling
  to a 7-7 tie following two quarters of evenly matched play, the
  Pirates opened the throttle in the second half, returning a kickoff
  for a touchdown and finding the end zone on two aerial strikes; the
  La Vega defense halted a Liberty Hill comeback bid in the fourth
  quarter, and the Pirates emerged triumphant by a final score of
  35-21 to claim their school's second state title in the past four
  years; and
         WHEREAS, Offensive Most Valuable Player Malachi Wright
  turned in an electrifying performance for La Vega, tallying 163
  receiving yards and two scores, including a 90-yard reception from
  Ara Rauls that was the longest touchdown pass in 4A title game
  history; Donta Stuart's 94-yard kickoff return broke another state
  record, and Defensive MVP Jared Rogers collected 15 tackles,
  including 12 solo stops; ably guided by head coach Don Hyde and his
  assistants, the Pirates received valuable contributions from each
  member of the roster over the course of the 2018 campaign; and
         WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the
  culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering
  commitment to excellence, and these talented student-athletes will
  treasure the memory of this accomplishment for the rest of their
  lives; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the La Vega High School football
  team on winning the 2018 UIL 4A Division 1 state championship and
  extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
  wishes for continued success; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the La Vega High School football team as an expression
  of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.