H.R. No. 1686
         WHEREAS, Coach Betty Kennan of Alfonso Ramirez Elementary
  School in Edinburg was honored with a 2018 National All Star Teacher
  of the Year Award by Project Fit America at a ceremony on March 29,
  2019; and
         WHEREAS, Project Fit America is a national nonprofit that
  works with schools at the grassroots level to create sustainable
  and innovative broad-based fitness programs for children; in the
  selection process for National All Star Teacher, nominated physical
  education instructors are evaluated on their lesson plans, teaching
  philosophies, and use of the PFA program in the classroom; although
  the program has been launched at more than 1,000 schools in 300
  cities and 46 states over the past 29 years, only 85 teachers have
  earned this impressive accolade; and
         WHEREAS, Coach Kennan was among three P.E. teachers from
  across the country to receive the prestigious award for 2018;
  during her time with the Edinburg Consolidated Independent School
  District, she has served as a role model for her students as well as
  her peers; in addition to promoting healthy exercise and eating
  habits, she has helped her students develop good sportsmanship and
  teamwork; and
         WHEREAS, Betty Kennan exemplifies the passion,
  determination, and innovative spirit that are the hallmarks of our
  best teachers, and she has set a standard of excellence to which all
  in her profession may aspire; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate Betty Kennan on receiving the 2018
  National All Star Teacher of the Year Award from Project Fit America
  and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success with her
  important work; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Coach Kennan as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1686 was adopted by the House on May
  24, 2019, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House