86R35863 SME-D
  By: Longoria H.R. No. 2053
         WHEREAS, Irma Davis of Dishman Elementary School in the
  Harlingen Consolidated Independent School District has received
  the 2019 H-E-B Excellence in Education Award in the elementary
  principal category; and
         WHEREAS, Established in 2002, the H-E-B Excellence in
  Education Awards celebrate the contributions of public school
  professionals across the Lone Star State; the principal award
  recognizes the top-performing administrators in elementary and
  secondary schools, and winners receive a $10,000 cash prize as well
  as a $25,000 grant for each of their schools; and
         WHEREAS, Ms. Davis has served as principal of Dishman
  Elementary for eight years, and in the course of her tenure, the
  campus has seen improved student performance and increased parental
  and community involvement; in addition, she has been instrumental
  in Dishman Elementary receiving the National Blue Ribbon Schools
  Award from the United States Department of Education; and
         WHEREAS, Irma Davis exemplifies the enthusiasm and
  dedication that are the hallmarks of our best educators, and she has
  set a standard of excellence to which all in her profession may
  aspire; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate Irma Davis on her receipt of the
  2019 H-E-B Excellence in Education Award in the elementary
  principal category and extend to her sincere best wishes for
  continued success with her important work; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Ms. Davis as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.