86R15349 BK-D
  By: Fallon S.C.R. No. 37
         WHEREAS, The valiant military service of James Allen Taylor
  is being saluted as part of the 2019 Medal of Honor Host City
  Weekend in Gainesville; and
         WHEREAS, Established in 2001, Gainesville's Medal of Honor
  Host City Program acknowledges the heroism and sacrifice of
  individuals who have earned the Medal of Honor, the nation's
  highest military award for valor; each year, local citizens join
  together to fund travel costs and other expenses to bring medal
  recipients to the city for a special series of events; and
         WHEREAS, During the Vietnam War, Captain Taylor was assigned
  to Troop B of the United States Army's 1st Cavalry as an executive
  officer; after a fortified position west of Que Son came under fire,
  he witnessed an intense attack on an armored cavalry assault
  vehicle, which left it in serious danger of exploding; at
  tremendous risk to his own life, he rescued all of the wounded
  crewmen just before their vehicle erupted into flames; Captain
  Taylor was wounded while returning to his own vehicle, but he
  continued with his mission and successfully moved the medical
  evacuation landing zone closer to the front lines; he ultimately
  saved the lives of several more soldiers who were riding in another
  stricken vehicle and was able to drive them safely to the new
  evacuation site; and
         WHEREAS, Demonstrating extraordinary courage in the line of
  duty, James Allen Taylor fulfilled the highest ideals of the United
  States armed forces, and he has earned the lasting admiration of a
  grateful nation; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby pay tribute to James Allen Taylor on the occasion of the 2019
  Medal of Honor Host City Weekend in Gainesville and commend him for
  his exemplary service in the defense of our nation; and, be it
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mr. Taylor as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives and Senate.