WHEREAS, The Medal of Honor Host City program in
  Gainesville is helping to raise awareness of the courage and
  sacrifice of members of our nation's military; and
         WHEREAS, Established by the city council in 2001, the
  program pays tribute to those who have received the Medal of
  Honor, the highest award for valor that the country bestows upon
  members of the armed forces; it is often referred to as the
  Congressional Medal of Honor, as it is generally presented by the
  United States president in the name of Congress; and
         WHEREAS, The annual program provides a number of
  opportunities for area residents to meet Medal of Honor
  recipients and express their appreciation; with a focus on
  child-friendly activities, the event allows young people to
  interact with military heroes and learn firsthand the enduring
  value of discipline, patriotism, and devotion to duty; and
         WHEREAS, Each year, the event is supported by numerous
  volunteers from the community, and others arrive from across the
  country to assist with this unique initiative; during the 2015
  program, Gainesville dedicated the Medal of Honor Park as a
  monument to all recipients of the medal; and
         WHEREAS, The men and women who have received the Medal of
  Honor exemplify the highest ideals of the United States armed
  forces, and through the Medal of Honor Host City program,
  Gainesville residents and visitors express the deep respect and
  gratitude that selfless military service engenders in the hearts
  of all Americans; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th
  Legislature, hereby recognize the Medal of Honor Host City
  program and commend all those involved in this noteworthy
  endeavor for their efforts; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be
  prepared for the program as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas Senate.
Alvarado Huffman Perry
Bettencourt Hughes Powell
Birdwell Johnson Rodríguez
Buckingham Kolkhorst Schwertner
Campbell Lucio Seliger
Creighton Menéndez Taylor
Flores Miles Watson
Hall Nelson West
Hancock Nichols Whitmire
Hinojosa Paxton Zaffirini
  Patrick, President of the Senate
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on April 9, 2019.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate