WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to
  recognize W. M. "Bill" Elkin for his many achievements in the
  field of law enforcement and his distinguished leadership as
  Executive Director of the Houston Police Retired Officers
  Association; and
         WHEREAS, Bill Elkin began his law enforcement career in
  1954 with the Houston Police Department, and he retired from duty
  in 1992 after 38 years of exemplary service; and
         WHEREAS, A dedicated public safety officer, Bill began an
  impressive path of professional advocacy during his time in the
  Houston Police Department; in the 1970s and 1980s, he held
  leadership positions in the Houston Police Officers Association,
  the Texas Municipal Police Association, and the Forgery
  Investigators Association of Texas; in 1997, a few years after
  his retirement from the Houston Police Department, Bill became
  the first Executive Director of the Houston Police Retired
  Officers Association, and he served loyally in that position
  until December 31, 2018; and
         WHEREAS, During a span of over four decades of noteworthy
  leadership with these various associations, Bill worked with the
  Texas Legislature to improve pension benefits and address other
  matters of significance for both active and retired officers; he
  helped give voice to those who devoted their careers to
  protecting and serving area citizens, and this year, he became
  the first person to be awarded the title of Lifetime Director
  Emeritus of the Houston Police Retired Officers Association;
  now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th
  Legislature, hereby honor W. M. "Bill" Elkin for his outstanding
  career and for his steadfast advocacy on behalf of retired police
  officers and extend to him best wishes in all his future
  endeavors; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
  him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on May 14, 2019.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate