H.C.R. No. 26

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, S. Javaid Anwar is being recognized as the Top Hand
- 2 of 2018 at the annual awards banquet of the Permian Basin Petroleum
- 3 Association on January 17, 2019; and
- WHEREAS, Born in Karachi, Pakistan, Mr. Anwar was raised by a
- 5 single mother who labored hard to provide him with opportunities
- 6 for advancement; he came to the United States to study petroleum
- 7 engineering at the University of Wyoming, where he helped put
- 8 himself through school by holding jobs as a busboy and a
- 9 construction worker; and
- 10 WHEREAS, After graduating in 1976, Mr. Anwar worked for oil
- 11 companies in the Panhandle and Houston before settling in Midland
- 12 to start his own business; in 1984, he drilled his first well near
- 13 Kermit, and today he is the owner and president of Midland Energy,
- 14 Petroplex Energy, and Western T. Corporation, as well as an
- 15 influential and respected advocate for the oil and gas industry;
- 16 and
- WHEREAS, In addition to his professional success, Mr. Anwar
- 18 has found time to give back as a member of the Texas Higher
- 19 Education Coordinating Board, the Texas Lieutenant Governor's
- 20 Energy Council, and the board of the George W. Bush Childhood Home;
- 21 he is also a lifetime member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers,
- 22 and he has generously supported the Cockrell School's Engineering
- 23 Education and Research Center at The University of Texas; and
- 24 WHEREAS, This distinguished gentleman's myriad accolades

- 1 include the Philanthropist of the Year Award from the Permian Basin
- 2 chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, the MS
- 3 Hope Award from the National Multiple Sclerosis Society,
- 4 humanitarian awards from the Pakistan Citizens Foundation and the
- 5 Human Development Foundation, the Golden Hammer Award from Midland
- 6 Habitat for Humanity, the Outstanding Businessman and Entrepreneur
- 7 Award from the Pakistan Chamber of Commerce-USA, the Businessman of
- 8 the Year Award from the South Asian Chamber of Commerce in Houston,
- 9 and the Man of the Year Award from Safeer e Pakistan; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In all his endeavors, Mr. Anwar enjoys the love and
- 11 support of his wife, Vicky, and their two children, Leslie and Ryan;
- 12 and
- WHEREAS, A leader in his field and a model of civic
- 14 engagement, Javaid Anwar has significantly contributed to his
- 15 community and to the Lone Star State, and he may indeed reflect with
- 16 pride on a lifetime of achievement as he accepts this prestigious
- 17 award from his peers; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 19 hereby congratulate S. Javaid Anwar on his receipt of the 2018
- 20 Permian Basin Petroleum Association Top Hand Award and extend to
- 21 him sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and,
- 22 be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for Mr. Anwar as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 25 House of Representatives and Senate.

Craddick

H.C.R. No. 26

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Bernal Ramos Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Shaheen Button Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Coleman Stephenson Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Dean Metcalf Deshotel Meyer Toth Dominguez Turner of Dallas Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Flynn Frank Walle Moody Frullo White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Geren Wilson Gervin-Hawkins Wray Murphy Goldman Murr Wu González of Dallas Neave Zedler González of El Paso Nevárez Zerwas

Zwiener

Noble

Goodwin

_	_				
6	つ	$N \cap$	D	\sim	Н
v		\square	R	('	н

	H.C.R. No. 26
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 26 was 15, 2019, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on January
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 26 January 15, 2019, by a viva-voce vote.	was adopted by the Senate on
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Governor	