By: Springer H.C.R. No. 93

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The valiant military service of Allen James Lynch is

being saluted as part of the 2019 Medal of Honor Host City Weekend

3 in Gainesville; and

2

5

WHEREAS, Established in 2001, Gainesville's Medal of Honor

Host City Program acknowledges the heroism and sacrifice of

6 individuals who have earned the Medal of Honor, the nation's

7 highest military award for valor; each year, local citizens join

8 together to fund travel costs and other expenses to bring medal

9 recipients to the city for a special series of events; and

10 WHEREAS, A veteran of the Vietnam War, U.S. Army Sergeant

11 Allen James Lynch earned the Medal of Honor for the gallantry he

12 demonstrated during a firefight near the village of My An while

13 serving with Company D, 1st Battalion, 12th Cavalry, 1st Cavalry

14 Division; when his unit engaged a larger enemy force, he braved a

15 barrage of hostile gunfire to administer aid to three wounded

16 comrades; after felling two enemy soldiers, he carried the men he

17 was rescuing to a nearby trench, crossing a fire-swept area several

18 times; he then defended their position for two hours against the

19 encroaching enemy before once again carrying the wounded to a safer

20 location and helping secure their evacuation; and

21 WHEREAS, Demonstrating extraordinary courage in the line of

22 duty, Allen James Lynch fulfilled the highest ideals of the United

23 States armed forces, and he has earned the lasting admiration of a

24 grateful nation; now, therefore, be it

H.C.R. No. 93

- 1 RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 2 hereby pay tribute to Allen James Lynch on the occasion of the 2019
- 3 Medal of Honor Host City Weekend in Gainesville and commend him for
- 4 his exemplary service in the defense of our nation; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mr. Lynch as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives and Senate.