By: Springer

H.C.R. No. 105

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The valiant military service of Hiroshi H. Miyamura
2 is being saluted as part of the 2019 Medal of Honor Host City
3 Weekend in Gainesville; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2001, Gainesville's Medal of Honor Host City Program acknowledges the heroism and sacrifice of individuals who have earned the Medal of Honor, the nation's highest military award for valor; each year, local citizens join together to fund travel costs and other expenses to bring medal recipients to the city for a special series of events; and

WHEREAS, U.S. Army Corporal Hiroshi Miyamura earned the 10 11 Medal of Honor for his actions in the Korean War, when he served as a 12 machine gun squad leader in Company H, 7th Infantry Regiment, 3rd Infantry Division; during an assault by Chinese troops on April 24, 13 14 1951, he held off the enemy in hand-to-hand combat and by firing his machine gun until its ammunition was expended; he ordered his squad 15 16 to withdraw, but he remained behind, helping man a second gun emplacement and covering the withdrawal of the company; during his 17 gallant stand, he felled more than 50 of the Chinese attackers even 18 while suffering severe wounds, and he continued to fight until his 19 position was overrun and he was taken prisoner; he was held captive 20 21 for 28 months before being released; and

22 WHEREAS, Demonstrating extraordinary courage in the line of 23 duty, Hiroshi Miyamura fulfilled the highest ideals of the United 24 States armed forces, and he has earned the lasting admiration of a

1

H.C.R. No. 105

1 grateful nation; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas 3 hereby pay tribute to Hiroshi H. Miyamura on the occasion of the 4 2019 Medal of Honor Host City Weekend in Gainesville and commend him 5 for his exemplary service in the defense of our nation; and, be it 6 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Miyamura as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives and Senate.