H.C.R. No. 159

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Arlen L. Edgar is being inducted into the Petroleum
- 2 Hall of Fame on May 2, 2019; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Based at the Permian Basin Petroleum Museum in
- 4 Midland, the Petroleum Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have
- 5 made outstanding contributions to the development of the petroleum
- 6 industry in the region; and
- WHEREAS, Arlen Edgar was born in Stephenville in 1934, and he
- 8 graduated from Tarleton State University before earning his
- 9 bachelor's degree in petroleum engineering from The University of
- 10 Texas in 1957; and
- 11 WHEREAS, After beginning his career at Pan American Petroleum
- 12 Corporation in Odessa, Mr. Edgar was employed with Leibrock,
- 13 Landreth, Campbell and Callaway from 1961 to 1967, starting as a
- 14 reservoir engineer and rising to manager of the consulting
- 15 division; during that time, he also worked for Kanata Exploration
- 16 Company, a Canadian oil company, in southern Louisiana; and
- WHEREAS, From 1967 to 1971, Mr. Edgar held the roles of vice
- 18 president, president, and director of Tipperary Land and
- 19 Exploration, and he also served as the corporation's managing
- 20 director in Brisbane, Australia; he subsequently became general
- 21 manager of Western States Producing Company, and in 1973, he
- 22 embarked on a rewarding career as an independent consultant and
- 23 investor; and
- WHEREAS, A leader in his field, Mr. Edgar has represented the

H.C.R. No. 159

- 1 West Texas oil and gas community at the local, state, and national
- 2 levels as an officer for a number of professional organizations,
- 3 including the Society of Petroleum Engineers, the American
- 4 Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers, the
- 5 Society of Petroleum Evaluation Engineers, and the Society of
- 6 Independent Professional Earth Scientists; and
- WHEREAS, Through his hard work and expertise, Arlen Edgar has
- 8 distinguished himself as a successful and influential figure in an
- 9 industry that is such a vital part of the Texas economy, and he is
- 10 truly deserving of this prestigious recognition; now, therefore, be
- 11 it
- 12 RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 13 hereby congratulate Arlen L. Edgar on his induction into the
- 14 Petroleum Hall of Fame and extend to him sincere best wishes for the
- 15 future; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for Mr. Edgar as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 18 House of Representatives and Senate.

Craddick

H.C.R. No. 159

Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Davis of Harris Dean Dean Martinez Deshotel Dominguez Meyer Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Meyer Thompson of Brazori Thompson of Brazori Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Dallas Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White White Wilson Wray Goldman Murphy Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Wray
Gonzalez of Dallas Murr Zedler González of El Paso Neave Zerwas Goodwin Nevárez Zwiener

TT	\sim	ח	$N \cap$	159
Н	(ĸ	131()	179

Preside	nt of the Senate		Speaker	of the Hou	se
I cer	tify that H.C.R. N	o. 159 wa	ıs adopted by	the House	on April
16, 2019, by	y a non-record vote	•			
			Chief Cl	erk of the	House
I cer	tify that H.C.R. No	o. 159 wa:	s adopted by	the Senate	on April
17, 2019, by	y a viva-voce vote.				
				· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
			Secreta	ry of the S	enate
APPROVED: _					
	Date				
	Governor				