H.J.R. No. 4

A JOINT RESOLUTION

1 proposing a constitutional amendment providing for the creation of 2 the flood infrastructure fund to assist in the financing of 3 drainage, flood mitigation, and flood control projects.

4 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

5 SECTION 1. Article III, Texas Constitution, is amended by 6 adding Section 49-d-14 to read as follows:

Sec. 49-d-14. (a) The flood infrastructure fund is created as a special fund in the state treasury outside the general revenue fund.

10 (b) As provided by general law, money in the flood 11 infrastructure fund may be administered and used, without further 12 appropriation, by the Texas Water Development Board or that board's 13 successor in function to provide financing for a drainage, flood 14 mitigation, or flood control project, including:

15 <u>(1) planning and design activities;</u>

16 (2) work to obtain regulatory approval to provide 17 nonstructural and structural flood mitigation and drainage; or

18 <u>(3) construction of structural flood mitigation and</u>
19 drainage infrastructure.

20 <u>(c) Separate accounts may be established in the flood</u> 21 <u>infrastructure fund as necessary to administer the fund or</u> 22 <u>authorized projects.</u>

23 SECTION 2. This proposed constitutional amendment shall be 24 submitted to the voters at an election to be held November 5, 2019.

1

H.J.R. No. 4

1 The ballot shall be printed to permit voting for or against the 2 proposition: "The constitutional amendment providing for the 3 creation of the flood infrastructure fund to assist in the 4 financing of drainage, flood mitigation, and flood control 5 projects."

H.J.R. No. 4

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.J.R. No. 4 was passed by the House on April 10, 2019, by the following vote: Yeas 140, Nays 0, 2 present, not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.J.R. No. 4 was passed by the Senate on May 22, 2019, by the following vote: Yeas 31, Nays 0.

Secretary of the Senate

RECEIVED:

Date

Secretary of State