H.R. No. 17

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For six decades, the National Aeronautics and Space 2 Administration has inspired our nation and the world with its 3 outstanding record of intrepid space exploration and scientific 4 discovery; and

5 WHEREAS, NASA's innumerable engineering advances have our nation's security, benefited safety, 6 greatly and 7 communications systems, and innovations pioneered by NASA scientists and engineers have led to such improvements in health 8 care technology as the MRI and the CAT scan, the fetal heart 9 monitor, and the programmable cardiac pacemaker; and 10

11 WHEREAS, The agency's strong presence in the Lone Star State 12 has long been a source of pride for all Texans; the Johnson Space Center in Houston is a global leader in human spaceflight, serving 13 14 as the training center for America's corps of astronauts; the center is continuing that legacy by acting as the lead center for 15 the development of the nation's latest spacecraft, the Orion 16 Multi-Purpose Crew Vehicle; this effort includes working with 17 private partners and conducting advanced research that will 18 strengthen the future of space exploration; and 19

20 WHEREAS, The Johnson Space Center also plays a vital role in 21 the Texas economy, employing thousands of civil servants and 22 civilian contractors and awarding billions of dollars in contracts 23 every year; in addition, NASA's Space Alliance Technology Outreach 24 Program benefits small businesses across the state, and through

1

education programs such as Texas Aerospace Scholars, NASA is nurturing and inspiring a new generation of scientists, engineers,

3 and explorers; and

1

2

WHEREAS, NASA continues to drive further innovation in the aerospace and high-tech industries, and its long-standing record of achievement in the development of technologies that simultaneously reach for the stars and better our lives here on Earth is truly deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 10 Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 2019, as Space Day at the 11 State Capitol and honor the National Aeronautics and Space 12 Administration for its immeasurable contributions to this state and 13 nation.

Paul

H.R. No. 17

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 17

Oliverson

H.R. No. 17

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 17 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House