H.R. No. 22

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Jasper-Lake Sam Rayburn Area Chamber of Commerce 2 is celebrating the 100th anniversary of its founding in 2019; and 3 WHEREAS, Under its first president, turpentine manufacturer L. M. Autrey, the chamber established its commitment to promoting 4 5 local businesses, tourism, and economic development; today, the organization continues to advocate for the "Jewel of the Forest," 6 7 as the city has been nicknamed, and it sparks the interest of prospective residents and businesses alike by focusing on the 8 area's low cost of living, high quality of life, and great natural 9 10 beauty; and

11 WHEREAS, The chamber has also contributed to the vibrancy of 12 the community through its sponsorship of numerous activities and events; its Azalea Festival and Fall Butterfly Festival have grown 13 14 over the course of many decades, becoming regional attractions; in more recent years, the Dam2Dam Bike Ride has drawn cyclists from 15 across the state, and kayaking was added for the 15th annual race in 16 moreover, the organization's signature event 17 2018; is the Chairman's Banquet that takes place every January; and 18

WHEREAS, Over the past century, the Jasper-Lake Sam Rayburn Area Chamber of Commerce has played an integral role in the growth and prosperity of the community, and the group is truly deserving of special recognition as it marks this momentous milestone in its history; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

1

H.R. No. 22

1 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the 2 Jasper-Lake Sam Rayburn Area Chamber of Commerce and extend to the 3 members of this noteworthy organization sincere best wishes for 4 continued success; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the chamber as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

White

H.R. No. 22

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 22 was adopted by the House on March 6, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House