RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor football team
- 2 reached the pinnacle of success by winning the NCAA Division III
- 3 national championship with a victory in the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl
- 4 on December 14, 2018; and
- 5 WHEREAS, After going undefeated in the regular season and
- 6 claiming the American Southwest Conference title, the Crusaders
- 7 began their thrilling run through the postseason with a 27-6 win
- 8 over Hardin-Simmons University; they then reeled off victories over
- 9 Berry College, Saint John's University, and the University of
- 10 Wisconsin-Whitewater to set up a Stagg Bowl rematch with the
- 11 University of Mount Union, the same team that had defeated UMHB in
- 12 the 2017 Division III title game; and
- WHEREAS, The Crusaders fell behind 10-0 in the first quarter
- 14 but rallied to take a 14-13 lead into halftime; the team added
- 15 another touchdown and a field goal in the second half while holding
- 16 Mount Union to just three more points; when the final seconds ticked
- 17 off the clock, UMHB recorded a 24-16 win and collected its second
- 18 national crown in the past three years; and
- 19 WHEREAS, By once again proving themselves the finest Division
- 20 III team in the nation, the UMHB Crusaders have furthered the
- 21 university's reputation as a gridiron powerhouse, and this
- 22 achievement will be fondly remembered for many years to come; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

H.R. No. 30

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the University of Mary
- 2 Hardin-Baylor football team on winning the 2018 NCAA Division III
- 3 national championship and extend to the team's players, coaches,
- 4 and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Shine

H.R. No. 30

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 30 was adopted by the House on January 30, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House