H.R. No. 51

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. DeVry C. Anderson of Austin is serving as
- 2 Physician of the Day at the State Capitol on January 15, 2019, and
- 3 his participation in this time-honored tradition is indeed
- 4 laudable; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A colonel in the United States Army, Dr. Anderson
- 6 has served since 2017 as vice president and deputy commander for
- 7 medical services at the Carl R. Darnall Army Medical Center at Fort
- 8 Hood; he first joined CRDAMC in 2014 as chair of the Deployment and
- 9 Operational Medicine Department and became vice president and
- 10 deputy commander of the Health Readiness Division the following
- 11 year; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Dr. Anderson graduated from the United States
- 13 Military Academy at West Point and Thomas Jefferson Medical
- 14 College, and he went on to complete an MBA at Norwich University
- 15 School of Business; over the course of his noteworthy career, he has
- 16 served in combat operations as a battalion surgeon and flight
- 17 surgeon, and he was brigade surgeon for the Warrior Transition
- 18 Brigade, regimental surgeon for the 3rd Armored Cavalry Regiment,
- 19 and Task Force Eagle surgeon during the Hurricane Katrina relief
- 20 effort; he also has private-sector experience as Texas regional
- 21 medical director for Next Care Urgent Care, and he operated an
- 22 independently owned urgent care clinic; and
- 23 WHEREAS, The author of numerous scholarly publications,
- 24 Dr. Anderson holds adjunct professorships in medicine at the

H.R. No. 51

- 1 F. Edward Hébert School of Medicine, Uniformed Services University
- 2 of the Health Sciences, and Texas A&M Health Science Center College
- 3 of Medicine; in 2016, he was inducted into the Order of Military
- 4 Medical Merit, and his many honors include the Bronze Star, the Air
- 5 Medal, and the Combat Medical Badge; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Dr. Anderson has distinguished himself greatly
- 7 through his outstanding service to his country and his
- 8 accomplishments in the medical profession, and it is indeed a
- 9 pleasure to welcome him to the State Capitol; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby commend Dr. DeVry C. Anderson for his
- 12 participation in the Physician of the Day program and honor him for
- 13 his achievements; and, be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for Dr. Anderson as an expression of high regard by the
- 16 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 51

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Bernal Ramos Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Stephenson Coleman Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Talarico Cyrier Lozano Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Dean Metcalf Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Flynn Frank Walle Moody Frullo White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Geren Wilson Gervin-Hawkins Wray Murphy Goldman Murr Wu González of Dallas Neave Zedler González of El Paso Nevárez Zerwas Goodwin Noble Zwiener

	H.R. No. 51
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 51 was	adopted by the House on January
15, 2019, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House