H.R. No. 58

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents and business leaders are gathering 2 in Austin on February 12, 2019, to celebrate Huntsville and Walker 3 County Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Situated in the rolling hills of the Piney Woods,
Walker County is named for Texas Ranger Captain Samuel H. Walker;
it was officially organized in 1846, the same year that Huntsville
was designated the county seat; and

WHEREAS, Huntsville was the home of General Sam Houston, and 8 9 the town preserves the legacy of this Texas Revolution hero at the Sam Houston Memorial Museum and with an impressive 77-foot-tall 10 11 statue called A Tribute to Courage; Sam Houston State University, 12 with an enrollment of more than 21,000 students and more than 80 bachelor's, 50 master's, and 10 doctoral degree programs, is 13 14 located there; the oldest state prison in Texas, which opened in 1849, was established in and named for Huntsville; and 15

16 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike benefit from the wealth 17 of recreational opportunities in Walker County, where outdoor 18 enthusiasts flock to Sam Houston National Forest and Huntsville 19 State Park as well as to the county's major water resources, Lake 20 Livingston, Lake Conroe, Lake Raven, and the San Jacinto and 21 Trinity Rivers; and

22 WHEREAS, Benefiting from the accomplishments of a 23 forward-thinking chamber of commerce, citizens of the county are 24 preserving their notable past as they work together to build an even

1

H.R. No. 58 1 brighter future, and they may take justifiable pride in the 2 important role their unique area plays in the story of the Lone Star 3 State; now, therefore, be it

4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2019, as Huntsville and 6 Walker County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the 7 participants best wishes for an enjoyable and informative day in 8 Austin.

Bailes

H.R. No. 58

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 58 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House