RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A rich and purposeful life has drawn to a close with
- 2 the death of former Tarrant County commissioner Dionne Phillips
- 3 Bagsby on January 10, 2019, at the age of 82; and
- WHEREAS, Born in Phoenix, Illinois, to Paul and Ann Phillips,
- 5 Dionne Phillips earned her bachelor's degree from Illinois Wesleyan
- 6 University, her certification in speech pathology from George
- 7 Peabody College for Teachers, and her master's degree from Texas
- 8 Christian University; joined in matrimony to James A. Bagsby, she
- 9 was the proud mother of two children, Dionne Bagsby Jones and James
- 10 Tipkins Bagsby, and later in life she was blessed with four
- 11 grandchildren, Kirbe, Kelli, Josiah, and Elijah, and five
- 12 step-grandchildren; and
- WHEREAS, In the 1960s, Ms. Bagsby moved with her husband to
- 14 Fort Worth, where she was employed as a speech therapist for Fort
- 15 Worth ISD and helped the district work toward a peaceful
- 16 integration of Fort Worth schools; she devoted much of her time to
- 17 community activism, recruiting qualified candidates to run for
- 18 public office and playing a leading role in the establishment of the
- 19 Greater Fort Worth Area Negro Business and Professional Women's
- 20 Club; and
- 21 WHEREAS, In 1988, Ms. Bagsby ran for office herself and
- 22 became the first woman and the first African American to win a seat
- 23 on the Tarrant County Commissioners Court; she served as
- 24 commissioner for Precinct 1 until 2005, and during her 16-year

H.R. No. 63

- 1 tenure, she was a champion for improving education and increasing
- 2 the employment of women and minorities; she also expanded access to
- 3 health care by working to open community clinics across the county,
- 4 helped establish an immunization program, and guided grant money to
- 5 women's shelters in Fort Worth and Arlington; and
- 6 WHEREAS, This dynamic woman continued to contribute to her
- 7 community even in retirement, serving on the boards of United Way,
- 8 the Jubilee Theatre, Trinity Terrace, and the Fort Worth
- 9 Metropolitan Black Chamber of Commerce Youth Leadership
- 10 Development Program, among others; she was a recipient of the
- 11 Legacy Award from the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce, and a
- 12 sub-courthouse in southwest Tarrant County was named in her honor;
- 13 and
- 14 WHEREAS, A woman of profound religious faith, Dionne Bagsby
- 15 lived by the words of Luke 12:48, "From everyone who has been given
- 16 much, much will be demanded," and the legacy of her service to her
- 17 family and her community will forever inspire all those who knew and
- 18 loved her; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Dionne Phillips
- 21 Bagsby and extend heartfelt sympathy to her family and many
- 22 friends; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 25 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dionne
- 26 Phillips Bagsby.

Davis of Dallas

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Allen Guillen Ortega Gutierrez Allison Pacheco Harless Anchia Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Ashby Hefner Patterson Hernandez Bailes Paul Beckley Bell of Kaufman Herrero Perez Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Bernal Howard Ramos Biedermann Huberty Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Rohac Reynolds E. Johnson of Dallas Bonnen of Galveston Rodriquez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal King of Hemphill Sanford Burns King of Parker Schaefer Burrows King of Uvalde Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Kuempel Canales Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Landgraf Smithee Cole Lang Springer Coleman Larson Stephenson Collier Leach Stickland Leman Stucky Cortez Craddick Longoria Swanson Cyrier Lozano Talarico Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Dominguez Meza Turner of Dallas Middleton Turner of Tarrant Dutton Miller VanDeaver Farrar Vo Minjarez Flynn Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morrison White Muñoz, Jr. Geren Wilson

Wray

Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Wıı

Murphy

Murr

Neave

Noble

Nevárez

Gervin-Hawkins

González of Dallas González of El Paso

Goldman

Goodwin

п.	ĸ.	NO.	03

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 63 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on January 16, 2019.

Chief Clerk of the House