H.R. No. 64

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas Association of Public Employee Retirement
Systems is celebrating its 30th anniversary in 2019; and

3 WHEREAS, Founded in 1989, TEXPERS is a statewide, voluntary 4 nonprofit organization; it educates its members about effective 5 management of public employee retirement systems and advocates for 6 the secure retirement of Texans who have dedicated their careers to 7 public service; and

8 WHEREAS, The association's member systems represent nearly 9 300,000 active and retired employees of police and fire 10 departments, municipalities, airport authorities, hospital 11 districts, community colleges, and other agencies; and

WHEREAS, Public employee retirement systems in Texas make a substantial direct economic impact in the state, helping to create jobs and commerce; in 2018, they provided well over \$29 billion in economic stimulus in Texas, and they generated \$4.4 billion in federal, state, and local taxes; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception, TEXPERS has provided forums for 17 discussing state and national legislative issues that affect public 18 pension systems; it has also supplied important information on 19 retirement system administration, benefit design, 20 actuarial 21 integrity, federal programs, and protection of the rights of pension systems and the employees they cover; in addition, it 22 23 offers valuable training for trustees and administrators; and 24 WHEREAS, Public pension systems offer tremendous benefit

1

1 both to their members and to society as a whole, and through its 2 outstanding efforts, TEXPERS plays a vital role in maintaining the 3 soundness of public pension funds; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Association of Public Employee Retirement Systems on its 30th anniversary and extend to all those associated with this noteworthy organization sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Wray

H.R. No. 64

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 64

H.R. No. 64

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 64 was adopted by the House on January 23, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House