RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Jim Wells County are assembling at the 2 State Capitol on February 19, 2019, to celebrate the importance of

3 their home to the history of the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, A landscape of sweeping grasslands and wide 4 5 horizons, the county's early inhabitants enjoyed the region's mild winters and abundant game; after the first European settlement in 6 7 1754, at Penitas Creek, Mexican ranchers developed land grants into sheep and cattle ranches; in 1848 the region became part of the 8 9 State of Texas, and it was formally incorporated as a county in 1911 and named after the prominent developer and attorney James B. Wells 10

11 Jr.; and

12 WHEREAS, With the arrival of the railroad in the 1870s, Alice became the most important livestock shipment junction in South 13 14 Texas, and ranching has remained a mainstay of the county's economy ever since; cotton and sorghum are important crops, as are hay, 15 16 corn, and wheat; since the discovery of oil in the area in 1931, the county has become one of the state's leaders in oil production; and 17 18 WHEREAS, Notable communities in Jim Wells County include Orange Grove, Ben Bolt-Palito Blanco, Premont, Sandia, and La 19 Gloria; the county seat, Alice is a center for health care, with an 20 21 outstanding medical facility, the CHRISTUS Spohn Hospital Alice; the Tejano R.O.O.T.S. Hall of Fame in Alice honors Tejano culture 22 23 and recognizes the region as the birthplace of this popular musical genre; area culture is further showcased at the South Texas Museum, 24

H.R. No. 79

- 1 housed in the historic McGill Brothers Building, and the annual
- 2 Fiesta Bandana, celebrating Cinco de Mayo, is a highlight of the
- 3 county's cultural calendar; and
- WHEREAS, Celebrating their vibrant heritage as they embrace
- 5 the opportunities of the future, the citizens of Jim Wells County
- 6 are building on a long tradition of industry, achievement, and
- 7 public spirit, and they are indeed deserving of special
- 8 recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby recognize February 19, 2019, as Jim Wells County
- 11 Day at the State Capitol and extend to its residents sincere best
- 12 wishes for a meaningful and memorable visit to Austin.

Lozano

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas

Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Davis of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Dean Deshotel Meyer Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Farrar Miller Minjarez Fierro Flynn Moody Frank Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Geren Murphy Gervin-Hawkins Murr Goldman Neave González of Dallas Nevárez González of El Paso Noble Goodwin

Guerra

Guillen

Harless

Harris

Hefner

Herrero

Holland

Howard Huberty

Hunter

Israel

Kacal

E. Johnson of Dallas

J. Johnson of Dallas

Johnson of Harris

King of Hemphill

King of Parker King of Uvalde

Hinojosa

Gutierrez

Hernandez

Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 79 was a	adopted by the House on February
19, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 79

19, 2019, by a non-record vote.