H.R. No. 90

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso has attained a
- 2 prestigious R1 designation in the Carnegie Classification of
- 3 Institutions of Higher Education; and
- 4 WHEREAS, For nearly half a century, the Carnegie
- 5 Classification has analyzed and categorized higher learning
- 6 institutions with outstanding research and policy analysis
- 7 programs; the R1 designation is conferred to top tier doctoral
- 8 universities with high research activity, and this exemplary
- 9 ranking has been accorded to only 130 out of the 2,883 four-year
- 10 higher education institutions in the United States; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In the past 30 years, under the leadership of
- 12 president Diana Natalicio, UTEP has experienced significant growth
- 13 in its research programs and expenditures; doctoral degree
- 14 offerings have exponentially increased from 1 to 22 programs across
- 15 campus, and annual research expenditures have risen from \$6 million
- 16 to \$95 million; alongside this expansion in the scope and quality of
- 17 research activities, the university has maintained its commitment
- 18 to access, placing high priority in engaging students in its
- 19 research endeavors; and
- 20 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso has distinguished
- 21 itself as one of the top research universities in the nation, and
- 22 this newly earned ranking is well-deserved recognition of its
- 23 dedication to educational excellence; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

H.R. No. 90

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas at El Paso
- 2 for attaining the R1 designation in the Carnegie Classification of
- 3 Institutions of Higher Education and extend to the administration,
- 4 faculty, students, and staff sincere best wishes for continued
- 5 success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for The University of Texas at El Paso as an expression of
- 8 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Ortega Moody González of El Paso Blanco Fierro

H.R. No. 90

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Ashby Hefner Patterson Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Ramos Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Coleman Stephenson Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Dominguez Turner of Dallas Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison

Muñoz, Jr.

Murphy

Murr

Neave

Noble

Nevárez

Frullo

Goldman

Goodwin

Gervin-Hawkins

González of Dallas

González of El Paso

Geren

Wilson Wray

Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Wu

Speaker of the House
adopted by the House on February

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 90

I certify that H.R. No. 90 was

13, 2019, by a non-record vote.