H.R. No. 112

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The football team of Bishop Dunne High School in
- 2 Dallas reached the pinnacle of success by winning the 2018 Texas
- 3 Association of Private and Parochial Schools Division I state
- 4 championship on December 7 in Waco; and
- 5 WHEREAS, After going undefeated in district play during the
- 6 regular season, the Falcons opened the playoffs with two dominant
- 7 victories, 45-7 over Trinity Christian Academy and 42-0 over
- 8 St. Pius X High School, to advance to the semifinals against Parish
- 9 Episcopal School; in that contest, quarterback Simeon Evans passed
- 10 for two touchdowns and ran for two more while the defense recorded
- 11 six sacks and held the Parish Episcopal running game in check en
- 12 route to a 31-20 triumph that punched the team's ticket to the
- 13 Division I title game; and
- 14 WHEREAS, With the state crown on the line, Bishop Dunne
- 15 matched up against Bishop Lynch High School in a rematch of the 2016
- 16 championship showdown; in a closely contested thriller, the Falcons
- 17 took a 7-0 lead in the second quarter on a touchdown pass from
- 18 Mr. Evans to Andrew Armstrong, but Bishop Lynch rallied to carry a
- 19 9-7 lead into the final minute of the game; with just 42 seconds to
- 20 play, Mr. Evans connected with Mr. Armstrong on another scoring
- 21 strike to recapture the advantage, and the Falcon defense held firm
- 22 on the final Bishop Lynch drive to secure the 13-9 victory and the
- 23 state championship; and
- 24 WHEREAS, In addition to the efforts of Mr. Evans and

H.R. No. 112

- 1 Mr. Armstrong, Bishop Dunne received valuable contributions throughout the season from each of the other members 2 3 the roster: Logan Wilson, Kendall Paul, Ryan West, Nicholas Nakwaasah, Jaden Hullaby, Jabari Khepera, Landon Hullaby, Brennon 4 5 Scott, Nicholas Johnson, Brian Williams, Elijah Yelverton, Joshua Emmanuel, Kofi Thompson, Patrick Ugbede, Matthew Yelverton, Peyton 6 Culberson, Coby Cavil, John Emmanuel, JaDarrion Herrod, Fred 7 8 Henderson, Jeremiah Bodwin, Pearson Hendrix, Cory Cavil, Kendall Newsom, Cameron Wilson, Greg Lane, Raymond Evans, Jason Aaruz, 9 10 Grant Barksdale, Adrian Munoz, Samuel Strong, Gabe Matous, Mykell Sutton, Tim Peterson, James Clark, Thomas Gort, Josh Ramos, Chans 11 12 Jones, Gabriel Betancourt, Denim Brown, Kobe Singleton, Elijah Moore, Donovan Stiles, Colby Culberson, Kobe Paul, Mekhi Collins, 13
- 15 WHEREAS, The steady guidance of head coach Michael Johnson led the Falcons to an outstanding overall record of 11 wins and 3 16 17 losses, and he was ably assisted by a skilled staff that included coaches Walter Johnson, Myron Hawthorne, Delone Williams, Zach 18 19 Coleman, Bobby Watkins, Bryson Lewis, John Johnson, Robert Brodner, 20 Chris Walton, Chad Morris, and Rodney Hawkins, as well as head athletic trainer Tye Burch-Bowers and video coordinators Stephen 21 James, David Johnson, and Ron Johnson; the team also received vital 22 23 support from athletic director Kenneth Davis and principal Mary 24 Beth Marchiony; and

Tucker Littleton, and Kevin Washington; and

14

WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to excellence, and the members of the Bishop Dunne

H.R. No. 112

- 1 Falcons football team will treasure the memory of this
- 2 accomplishment for many years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate the Bishop Dunne High School
- 5 football team on winning the 2018 TAPPS Division I state
- 6 championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff
- 7 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

Η.	R.	No.	112
		110.	

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 112 was adopted by the House on March 6, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House