H.R. No. 115

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Heart disease ranks as the number one cause of death 2 for women in the United States, but 80 percent of cardiac events can 3 be prevented; and

WHEREAS, An estimated 44 million U.S. women are affected by cardiovascular diseases, which, together with stroke, kill one woman every 80 seconds on average and account for a third of female deaths each year; and

8 WHEREAS, Although many women have one or more risk factors 9 for developing heart disease, few realize that heart disease is 10 their greatest health threat; moreover, studies have shown that 11 women are less likely to call 911 for themselves when experiencing 12 symptoms of a heart attack than they are to seek assistance for 13 someone else in the same situation; and

WHEREAS, The American Heart Association established the Go Red For Women campaign and National Wear Red Day to promote measures that can reduce heart disease; the organization urges women to exercise, stop smoking, maintain a healthy diet, and get their blood pressure and cholesterol checked regularly; in addition, it reminds them to teach their children the importance of staying active and eating sensibly; and

21 WHEREAS, By dressing in red on National Wear Red Day, 22 citizens can raise awareness of heart disease, help others learn to 23 reduce their risk, and demonstrate support for more research and 24 education focused on heart disease in women; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 115
1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
2 Legislature hereby recognize February 1, 2019, as National Wear Red
3 Day and encourage all Texans to participate in this important
4 observance.

Howard

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 115

Oliverson

H.R. No. 115

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 115 was adopted by the House on January 30, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House