RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The House of Representatives is pleased to join
- 2 Texans across the state in celebrating Children's Advocacy Centers
- 3 of Texas Legislative Day at the State Capitol on January 29, 2019;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, Children's Advocacy Centers of Texas can trace its
- 6 origins back to 1989, when the state's first children's advocacy
- 7 center, The Bridge, was established in Amarillo; this pioneering
- 8 organization joined with 12 other local centers in 1994 to form
- 9 CACTX, which now has a membership of more than 70 children's
- 10 advocacy centers throughout the state; and
- 11 WHEREAS, CACTX provides a wide variety of assistance for
- 12 local centers, including training, technical support, and
- 13 evaluation services; and
- WHEREAS, The CACTX member centers serve some 58,000 children
- 15 each year by working closely with multidisciplinary teams that
- 16 include law enforcement and the Department of Family and Protective
- 17 Services to coordinate joint investigations of child abuse and to
- 18 help child victims receive the services they need to heal; and
- WHEREAS, Since its inception, Children's Advocacy Centers of
- 20 Texas has worked tirelessly to protect the state's most vulnerable
- 21 population, and it is indeed deserving of recognition for its
- 22 contributions to the well-being of countless young Texans and their
- 23 families; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize January 29, 2019, as Children's
- 2 Advocacy Centers of Texas Day at the State Capitol and commend the
- 3 organization and its member centers for their efforts in behalf of
- 4 child victims of abuse; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That Children's Advocacy Centers of Texas be
- 6 extended best wishes for a successful legislative day at the
- 7 Capitol and that an official copy of this resolution be prepared for
- 8 the organization as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 9 of Representatives.

Price

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Bernal Ramos Howard Biedermann Huberty Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Stephenson Coleman Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Talarico Cyrier Lozano Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Dean Metcalf Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Flynn Frank Walle Moody Frullo White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Geren Wilson Wray Gervin-Hawkins Murphy Goldman Murr Wu González of Dallas Neave Zedler González of El Paso Nevárez Zerwas Goodwin Noble Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 118 was adopted by the House on January 29, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House