H.R. No. 123

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Aggies and Longhorns are uniting at the State
- 2 Capitol on February 5, 2019, to celebrate Orange and Maroon
- 3 Legislative Day and to promote higher education in the State of
- 4 Texas; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Alumni from the two schools total nearly one
- 6 million, and Texas A&M University and The University of Texas at
- 7 Austin have a combined annual enrollment of more than 115,000
- 8 students, with tens of thousands of students receiving degrees each
- 9 year; the schools boast superb museums and libraries, including the
- 10 George H. W. Bush Presidential Library Center and the LBJ
- 11 Presidential Library, and both universities are renowned for their
- 12 exceptional research; and
- WHEREAS, The teaching and research missions of Texas A&M
- 14 University and The University of Texas at Austin benefit the State
- 15 of Texas and drive economic prosperity through scientific
- 16 breakthroughs, technological innovation, entrepreneurial spirit,
- 17 improved health care, and the creation of successive generations of
- 18 informed and engaged citizens; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Texas A&M and UT Austin researchers explore,
- 20 discover, and innovate in the sciences, arts, and humanities and
- 21 have been granted numerous patents; as Tier One research
- 22 institutions, both universities provide students valuable
- 23 opportunities for applied learning with guidance from outstanding
- 24 faculty across the disciplines; and

H.R. No. 123

- 1 WHEREAS, Both universities serve as important cultural
- 2 centers, engaging Texans in the visual and performing arts and
- 3 other creative endeavors, and they promote athletics and physical
- 4 education, inspiring Texans to stay active and bringing them
- 5 together in support of student-athletes; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The faculties feature Nobel laureates and
- 7 nationally recognized scholars, and those attending the schools
- 8 include National Merit scholars, Rhodes scholars, Olympic gold
- 9 medalists, veterans, and many of the Lone Star State's most
- 10 outstanding students; in addition, the two universities offer an
- 11 amazing range of postgraduate opportunities with nearly 500
- 12 graduate degree programs; and
- WHEREAS, Texas A&M University and The University of Texas at
- 14 Austin have established themselves as preeminent institutions of
- 15 higher education on the state, national, and international levels,
- 16 and Texans are fortunate to have access to these two exceptional
- 17 state university systems; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby recognize February 5, 2019, as Orange and Maroon
- 20 Legislative Day and commend alumni from Texas A&M University and
- 21 The University of Texas at Austin for their commitment to
- 22 supporting higher education in the Lone Star State.

Raney

H.R. No. 123

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Germin Mandring	Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr.	Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson
	<u> </u>	
Gervin-Hawkins	Murphy	Wray
Goldman	Murr	Wu
González of Dallas	Neave	Zedler
González of El Paso	Nevárez	Zerwas
Goodwin	Noble	Zwiener

	H.R. No. 123
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 123 was 5, 2019, by a non-record vote.	s adopted by the House on February
, , , ,	
	Chief Clerk of the House