H.R. No. 126

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Family and friends will forever cherish their
- 2 memories of Mazzie Burgess Moses, who passed away on July 4, 2018,
- 3 at the age of 68; and
- WHEREAS, The former Mazzie Burgess was born to James and Cora
- 5 Burgess on August 7, 1949, in Florence County, South Carolina; she
- 6 moved with her family to Bridgeport, Connecticut, where she was
- 7 joined in matrimony to Fred Moses, with whom she shared a rewarding
- 8 union that spanned 48 years; the couple became the proud parents of
- 9 two children, Michelle and Frederic, and later in life, they were
- 10 blessed with three beloved granddaughters, Taylor, Tylre, and
- 11 Jessica; and
- WHEREAS, After settling in Plano in 1980, Ms. Moses was
- 13 employed with ARCO Oil and Gas, and she went on to serve as vice
- 14 president of Telecom Electric Supply Company, which Mr. Moses
- 15 founded in 1985; deeply devoted to her community, Ms. Moses held
- 16 leadership roles with numerous organizations, including the Collin
- 17 County Community College Advisory Board, the Collin County Private
- 18 Industry Council, the Plano Community Forum, and the Plano North
- 19 Metroplex Chapter (TX) of Links, Incorporated, of which she was
- 20 past president; moreover, she and her husband demonstrated their
- 21 strong commitment to education by endowing scholarships at Collin
- 22 College and Dallas Baptist University; and
- WHEREAS, Ms. Moses was recognized for her myriad
- 24 contributions with an Athena Award from the Plano Chamber of

H.R. No. 126

- 1 Commerce, a Living Legend Award from Collin College, and an Unsung
- 2 Hero Award from the Women's Business Enterprise Hall of Fame; and
- WHEREAS, In all her endeavors, Ms. Moses was sustained by a
- 4 strong and abiding faith; a valued member of Shiloh Missionary
- 5 Baptist Church, she benefited her fellow congregants as assistant
- 6 youth director, church clerk, and deaconess; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Mazzie Moses brightened the world for all who knew
- 8 her with her warmth, kindness, and ever-present smile, and she
- 9 leaves behind a legacy that will long be treasured by those who held
- 10 her dear; now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Mazzie Burgess Moses
- 13 and extend sincere condolences to her relatives and friends; and,
- 14 be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 17 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Mazzie
- 18 Moses.

Leach Sanford Shaheen Holland Noble

## H.R. No. 126

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Bernal Ramos Howard Biedermann Huberty Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Smithee Clardy Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Stephenson Coleman Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Talarico Cyrier Lozano Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Dean Metcalf Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Flynn Frank Walle Moody Frullo White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Geren Wilson Wray Gervin-Hawkins Murphy Goldman Murr Wu González of Dallas Neave Zedler González of El Paso Nevárez Zerwas

Zwiener

Noble

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 126
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 126 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
vote of the House on January 30, 2019.	
	Chief Clerk of the House