H.R. No. 129

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, January 27, 2019, marks the 74th anniversary of the 2 liberation of the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration and death camp, a place that has come to symbolize for people around the world the 3 evils of the German Nazi regime and its reign of violence and terror 4 5 across Europe; and WHEREAS, After the onset of World War II, German chancellor 6 Adolf Hitler put into action the "Final Solution," a plan that 7 escalated his state-enforced policy of oppression of Jewish 8 9 citizens and other targeted groups into a campaign of mass murder;

10 Auschwitz-Birkenau, which opened in the spring of 1940, was the

11 largest of the Nazi concentration and death camps, consisting of

12 several facilities and subcamps where a total of at least 1.1

13 million people ultimately lost their lives; and

WHEREAS, By mid-1942, the majority of those being imprisoned at Auschwitz-Birkenau were Jews; detainees who were considered unfit for work, including pregnant women, young children, the elderly, and the infirm, were executed upon arrival, while others went on to die from overwork, disease, poor nutrition, or arbitrary acts of violence carried out by the guards; some prisoners were subjected to inhumane and often fatal experiments conducted by

21 Josef Mengele and other Nazi researchers; and

WHEREAS, In 1944, with Allied forces closing in,
Auschwitz-Birkenau commandants began destroying evidence of the
atrocities that had taken place at the camp; the Germans ordered an

H.R. No. 129

1 evacuation of the compound in January 1945, forcing tens of thousands of prisoners to embark on death marches that would claim 2 3 many lives through exposure, starvation, or exhaustion; the Soviet Army arrived at Auschwitz-Birkenau as liberators on January 27 and 4 5 found more than 7,500 sick or emaciated detainees who had been left behind, along with the remains and belongings of other victims of 6 the camp's brutality; the vast majority of the deceased were Jews, 7 8 and an additional 70,000 to 80,000 Poles and 19,000 to 20,000 Roma

were also counted in estimates of the dead; and

9

23

January 27, 2019.

10 WHEREAS, Today, the anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz-Birkenau is observed as International Holocaust 11 Remembrance Day, an annual day for the world to memorialize the six 12 million Jewish victims of the Holocaust and the millions of other 13 14 victims of Nazism and to develop educational programs aimed at 15 preventing genocide; only through a true understanding of this horrific chapter of history can we recognize and confront the 16 17 forces of hatred and intolerance, wherever they may manifest, and work together toward a more hopeful future; now, therefore, be it 18 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby commemorate the 74th anniversary of the 20 liberation of the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration and death camp 21 and the observance of International Holocaust Remembrance Day on 22

King of Parker

H.R. No. 129

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Bernal Ramos Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Stephenson Coleman Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Talarico Cyrier Lozano Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Dean Metcalf Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Flynn Frank Walle Moody Frullo White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Geren Wilson Gervin-Hawkins Wray Murphy Goldman Murr Wu González of Dallas Neave Zedler González of El Paso Nevárez Zerwas Goodwin Noble Zwiener

	H.R. No. 129
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 129 was	adopted by the House on January
28, 2019, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House