H.R. No. 134

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Greater Houston Black Chamber are 2 gathering in Austin on February 25, 2019, for their legislative day 3 at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, One of the oldest black chambers of commerce in the 4 5 nation, the organization was founded by a group of prominent community leaders as the Houston Negro Chamber of Commerce in 6 September 1935 to support, empower, and advocate for African 7 American businesses in the city; the chamber established itself as 8 a catalyst for positive change through its efforts to promote the 9 economic mobility and overall welfare of Houston residents and 10 11 through its involvement in such issues as fairer housing and 12 employment practices; and

13 WHEREAS, Today, the Greater Houston Black Chamber is the 14 premier organization for business development and partnership opportunities in the local African American community, which 15 constitutes approximately 25 percent of the city's population; the 16 GHBC supports African American small businesses in obtaining 17 education and certification as well as in accessing contracting 18 opportunities and capital, and it helps its partners and members 19 identify and connect with other minority-owned businesses; the 20 21 chamber currently maintains alliances with a host of major corporations, universities, and organizations in order to offer the 22 23 best possible services; and

24

WHEREAS, For more than eight decades, the Greater Houston

1

H.R. No. 134

Black Chamber has provided a forum for African American-owned businesses to grow and thrive, and its members may take pride in the proud tradition of excellence they have built; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 6 Legislature hereby recognize February 25, 2019, as Greater Houston 7 Black Chamber Legislative Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm 8 welcome to the delegation visiting on this day; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the chamber as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 134

Oliverson

H.R. No. 134

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 134 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House