H.R. No. 141

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, 9-1-1 is nationally recognized as the number to call 2 during an emergency, and our statewide 9-1-1 service relies on the 3 efforts of countless dedicated and hardworking operators and other 4 professionals; and

WHEREAS, The State of Texas is home to more than 500 public safety call centers, where trained operators respond to urgent calls for police, fire, and emergency medical services and dispatch appropriate assistance as quickly as possible; and

9

10

11

12

13

WHEREAS, Public safety telecommunicators are the vital link between citizens in need and the agencies that can render aid; these invaluable professionals are called on to accurately and efficiently answer emergency requests that may come at any hour of the day or night, and they frequently must have the skill and composure to perform their duties under considerable pressure; and

14 WHEREAS, New and emerging technology is necessary to ensure 15 that our state's 9-1-1 service is able to consistently meet the 16 expectations of our citizens; the Texas chapter of the National 17 Number Association, which 18 Emergency represents the telecommunicators, directors, planning professionals, and industry 19 20 service providers that are part of this system, is a leader in promoting research, training, and education as well as fostering 21 the development and accessibility of 9-1-1 services; and 22

WHEREAS, Texans are deeply indebted to the individuals who serve as the first point of access in the event of an emergency, and

H.R. No. 141

- 1 9-1-1 Day provides a fitting opportunity to raise awareness of our
- 2 9-1-1 service and the importance of modernizing this system to keep
- 3 pace with the needs of residents; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize March 4, 2019, as 9-1-1 Day at the
- 6 State Capitol and commend members of the Texas chapter of the
- 7 National Emergency Number Association and other 9-1-1
- 8 telecommunicators for their invaluable contributions.

White Bailes Ashby

## H.R. No. 141

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Bernal Ramos Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Shaheen Button Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Coleman Stephenson Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Wilson Wray Geren Murphy Gervin-Hawkins Murr Wu Goldman Neave Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Noble

González of Dallas

Goodwin

González of El Paso

	H.R. No. 141
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 141 was 2019, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on March 4,
	Chief Clerk of the House