RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Many Asian American residents of the Lone Star State
- 2 are celebrating the joyous occasion of the Lunar New Year on
- 3 February 5, 2019; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This special holiday marks the commencement of the
- 5 Year of the Pig and ushers in the spring season, a new beginning,
- 6 when the Asian community reflects on the past and makes plans for
- 7 the future; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The pig is considered a symbol of wealth and good
- 9 fortune; many in the Asian community believe that the Year of the
- 10 Pig will be a time of prosperity and joy; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The Lunar New Year, known as Tet in the Vietnamese
- 12 community and as the Spring Festival in the Chinese community,
- 13 begins on the first day of the first lunar month of the year; the
- 14 exact date changes annually, falling between the end of January and
- 15 the middle of February, but the festive spirit of the season remains
- 16 constant; and
- WHEREAS, The eve of the holiday's three-day festival is spent
- 18 cleaning houses, visiting ancestral graves, and preparing a
- 19 ceremonial meal; the Lunar New Year traditionally serves as a time
- 20 to reunite with family members, renew special friendships, and
- 21 remember past experiences, in preparation for good things to come;
- 22 and
- 23 WHEREAS, The Asian community plays a vital role in the
- 24 business, professional, and cultural life of Texas, and the Lunar

- 1 New Year provides a fitting opportunity to recognize these fine
- 2 citizens and to celebrate our common goals of peace and harmony for
- 3 all humanity; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby commemorate the Lunar New Year on February 5,
- 6 2019, and extend to all who are celebrating the holiday sincere best
- 7 wishes for health and happiness in the coming year.

Wu Vo Button

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Bernal Ramos Howard Biedermann Huberty Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Stephenson Coleman Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Talarico Cyrier Lozano Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Dean Metcalf Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Flynn Frank Walle Moody Frullo White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Geren Wilson Wray Gervin-Hawkins Murphy Goldman Murr Wu González of Dallas Neave Zedler González of El Paso Nevárez Zerwas Goodwin Noble Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 151 was adopted by the House on February 5, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House