H.R. No. 157

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Jacksonville Leadership Institute
- 2 and the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce are gathering in Austin on
- 3 February 12, 2019, to celebrate Jacksonville Leadership Day at the
- 4 State Capitol; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Now the largest city in Cherokee County,
- 6 Jacksonville was founded in 1847 along the banks of Gum Creek, and
- 7 it moved to its present location in 1872 to be closer to the
- 8 railroad; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The early economy centered around agriculture, and
- 10 Jacksonville was a leading center of peach production before
- 11 tomatoes became the primary crop; today, the Jacksonville economy
- 12 is supported by a diverse mix of industries, ranging from plastic
- 13 manufacturing to major clothing shipping outlets, medical
- 14 facilities, and more; the city is also home to the family-owned
- 15 Texas Basket Company, which supplies unique handcrafted baskets
- 16 nationwide and is celebrating 100 years of business in 2019; and
- WHEREAS, Education is an important part of the Jacksonville
- 18 community, and the Baptist Missionary Association Theological
- 19 Seminary is located there, as is Jacksonville College, one of the
- 20 last remaining private junior colleges in the state; additionally,
- 21 all eight campuses of the Jacksonville Independent School District
- 22 have been recipients of the highest rating from the Texas Education
- 23 Agency; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Home to numerous attractions, Jacksonville has been

H.R. No. 157

- 1 called the Tomato Capital of the World, and it continues to
- 2 celebrate that heritage with the annual Tomato Festival; moreover,
- 3 it has been recognized for creating the world's largest bowl of
- 4 salsa; the city is also the site of the Tomato Bowl football and
- 5 soccer stadium, which has been in operation since 1940 and is one of
- 6 the last remaining downtown stadiums in Texas, as well as Love's
- 7 Lookout, a scenic park featuring breathtaking views; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy a number of
- 9 special events, including the Jacksonville Tomato Fest, the Nicky
- 10 Wheeler Memorial Bull Riding event, the Tops in Texas Rodeo, and
- 11 competitions at River Run ATV Park; furthermore, Lake Jacksonville
- 12 provides a setting for camping, boating, fishing, and other outdoor
- 13 activities; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The citizens of Jacksonville are working to preserve
- 15 their rich history even as they look ahead to the opportunities of
- 16 the future, and they may take justifiable pride in their unique
- 17 contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore,
- 18 be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2019, as Jacksonville
- 21 Leadership Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
- 22 delegation sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay
- 23 in Austin.

Clardy

H.R. No. 157

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Ramos Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Shaheen Button Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Coleman Stephenson Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Wilson Wray Geren Murphy Gervin-Hawkins Murr Wu Goldman Neave Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Noble

González of Dallas

Goodwin

González of El Paso

	H.R. No. 157
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 157 was 12, 2019, by a non-record vote.	s adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House