H.R. No. 161

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. James P. Allison, chair of the department of
- 2 immunology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in
- 3 Houston, was awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physiology or
- 4 Medicine; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A world-renowned scientist and pioneer in cancer
- 6 immunotherapy, Dr. Allison received the award jointly with
- 7 Japanese immunologist Tasuku Honjo for their independent discovery
- 8 of cancer therapies that stimulate the immune system to attack
- 9 tumor cells; during Dr. Allison's research of T cells, white blood
- 10 cells that regulate a wide range of immune responses, he found that
- 11 deactivating the protein CTLA-4 can unleash the body's power to
- 12 fight back against malignant tumors; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Dr. Allison earned his doctoral degree at The
- 14 University of Texas at Austin; the executive director of the
- 15 Immunotherapy Platform at MD Anderson Cancer Center, he is also the
- 16 center's Vivian L. Smith Distinguished Chair in Immunology and the
- 17 director of the Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy; among
- 18 his myriad honors, he is a member of the National Academies of
- 19 Science and Medicine, and he was recognized with the Lasker-Debakey
- 20 Clinical Medical Research Award in 2015; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The groundbreaking contributions of Dr. James
- 22 Allison have placed him at the forefront of a promising new field of
- 23 cancer research, and his efforts are inspiring other scientists in
- 24 the Lone Star State and beyond; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 161

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. James P. Allison on his receipt
- 3 of the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine and extend to him
- 4 sincere best wishes for continued success with his important work;
- 5 and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Dr. Allison as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Harris Zerwas

H.R. No. 161

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Bernal Ramos Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Shaheen Button Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Stephenson Coleman Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Dean Metcalf Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Middleton Turner of Tarrant Dutton Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Wilson Wray Geren Murphy Gervin-Hawkins Murr Wu Goldman Neave Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Noble

González of Dallas

Goodwin

González of El Paso

	H.R. No. 161
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 161 was 12, 2019, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House