H.R. No. 187

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A distinguished delegation from South Texas is
visiting Austin on February 5, 2019, to celebrate Rio Grande Valley
Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Enjoying a strategic location on the Gulf of Mexico and along the Mexican border, the Rio Grande Valley was an important ranching region when Texas became the nation's 28th state in 1845; over time, the economy shifted from ranching to agriculture, and the Valley became the state's center of citrus and vegetable production; and

WHEREAS, In the 1960s, industry flourished and international 10 11 trade became increasingly prominent; the region has contributed 12 significantly to the tremendous increase in commerce across the United States-Mexico border, with more than 946,000 trucks, 11.7 13 14 million cars carrying 24.3 million passengers, 28,000 buses carrying over 300,000 passengers, and 6.2 million pedestrians 15 16 crossing Rio Grande Valley ports of entry and averaging more than \$140 million in goods and services per day, with over \$51 billion 17 in commercial trade per year flowing across 13 land ports of entry; 18 the Rio Grande Valley is an economic powerhouse for the State of 19 20 Texas with approximately \$12.5 billion in taxable sales recorded in 21 reporting year 2018; and

WHEREAS, The Valley has over 1.5 million residents, with approximately 600,000 individuals under the age of 25, and local and state officials have focused on the need to expand access to

1

H.R. No. 187

1 higher education and health care, strengthen the workforce, 2 increase transportation and ports of entry infrastructure, and 3 increase funding for public education; The University of Texas Rio 4 Grande Valley serves over 28,600 students; the UTRGV School of 5 Medicine is in its third year of operation with 155 medical students 6 and 169 medical residents in 10 GME programs and over 20 patient 7 care sites; and

8 WHEREAS, The Texas A&M University System recently opened its 9 McAllen Higher Education Center, which will be linked to the campus 10 in College Station and will offer programs in engineering, 11 technology, biomedical sciences, agriculture, and laboratory 12 sciences; and

WHEREAS, The six higher education institutions in the Rio Grande Valley, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Texas A&M University McAllen Higher Education Center, Texas A&M University Health Science Center, South Texas College, Texas Southmost College, and Texas State Technical College, serve a student population of over 70,000; and

WHEREAS, Major sponsors for the day's legislative event 19 include The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Texas A&M 20 University, Texas Southmost College, the City of McAllen, the City 21 of Edinburg, the City of Weslaco, the City of Pharr, the City of 22 Brownsville, the Port of Brownsville, the Lower Rio Grande Valley 23 24 Development Council, the Starr County Industrial Foundation, Willacy County, and the Rio Grande Valley Partnership, as well as 25 26 several private sector businesses, such as Pathfinder Public Affairs, Atlas, Hall & Rodriguez, LLP, IBC Bank, Texas Gas Service, 27

2

Uber, and The Coca-Cola Company, all of which are promoting greater
regional cooperation in the 21st century; and

3 WHEREAS, A vibrant region with a rich heritage, the Rio 4 Grande Valley is poised to take advantage of tremendous 5 opportunities for continued economic development, and it is indeed 6 most fitting to honor Valley residents for their dedication to 7 building a bright and prosperous future for the area; now, 8 therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 10 Legislature hereby recognize February 5, 2019, as Rio Grande Valley 11 Day at the State Capitol and extend to all participants sincere best 12 wishes for a productive and enjoyable visit.

Martinez

H.R. No. 187

3

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 187

Oliverson

H.R. No. 187

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 187 was adopted by the House on February 5, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House