H.R. No. 191

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Arlington was officially
designated a Purple Heart University by the Military Order of the
Purple Heart Department of Texas on August 22, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1984, the MOPH Department of Texas is a congressionally chartered service organization composed of 24 local chapters from across the state; the order's mission is to foster goodwill and camaraderie among combat-wounded veterans, to promote patriotism, to support veteran-friendly legislation and initiatives, and most importantly, to provide assistance to all veterans and their families; and

11 WHEREAS, UT Arlington was named a Purple Heart University in 12 honor of the school's outstanding commitment to ensuring veteran access to education, disability services, and adaptive sports; the 13 14 university's 3,000 veteran and veteran-dependent students currently make up 12 percent of the on-campus population, and an 15 additional 2,000 UT Arlington students are connected to the 16 military in some way; the school also has strong historic ties to 17 18 the armed forces, having operated as Carlisle Military Academy, Arlington Training School, and Arlington Military Academy early in 19 20 its history; and

21 WHEREAS, Americans owe a debt of gratitude to the men and 22 women who have put their lives on the line in defense of our safety 23 and freedom, and The University of Texas at Arlington is indeed 24 deserving of recognition for its continued support of veterans and

1

H.R. No. 191

1 military personnel; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas at 4 Arlington on being named a Purple Heart University by the Military 5 Order of the Purple Heart Department of Texas and extend to all 6 those associated with the school sincere best wishes for the 7 future.

> Tinderholt Krause Stickland Turner of Tarrant Zedler

H.R. No. 191

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 191 was adopted by the House on March 6, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House