H.R. No. 192

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Lucas are gathering at city hall 2 on February 19, 2019, to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the 3 founding of their community; and

WHEREAS, In 1888, a post office and general store were established on the site of the future town by Gabriel Lucas, who was later named the first postmaster, and the surrounding area came to be known as Lucas; in the 20th century, residents decided to incorporate the town, and O. E. Spurgin was delegated to present a detailed survey and a petition with 31 signatures to a local judge, who called an election; and

11 WHEREAS, Lucas was incorporated on February 19, 1959, and in 12 1967, the town took out a loan for a water system, with each 13 resident paying for water from the newly completed Lake Lavon dam; 14 twelve years later, the Public Utility Commission of Texas granted 15 the Town of Lucas the responsibility for providing water to its 16 citizens; and

WHEREAS, The Lucas fire and rescue service was established in 18 1973 by 18 volunteers, and today the city supports a modern fire 19 department with 15 career firefighters and 18 volunteers; and

20 WHEREAS, Now home to nearly 8,000 citizens, Lucas maintains 21 its family friendly and quiet country atmosphere, and its residents 22 may indeed take great pride in their history as they look forward to 23 a bright and prosperous future; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

1

H.R. No. 192
1 Legislature hereby commemorate the 60th anniversary of the founding
2 of Lucas and extend to its residents sincere best wishes for a
3 memorable and meaningful celebration; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for the City of Lucas as an expression of high regard by 6 the Texas House of Representatives.

Noble

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 192

Oliverson

H.R. No. 192

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 192 was adopted by the House on February 4, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House