H.R. No. 201

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the Texas State Conference of NAACP Units
are visiting the State Capitol on February 26, 2019, in celebration
of Texas NAACP Day; and

WHEREAS, For more than a century, the NAACP has played a crucial role in the struggle for equal rights and justice; the organization was founded in 1909 and grew rapidly as it set agendas and developed tactics that would propel the civil rights movement through the 20th century; and

9 WHEREAS, The NAACP has drawn its strength as a grassroots 10 organization from a membership based in hundreds of communities 11 across the nation, and its local branches have been key to its 12 effectiveness; in Texas, the first chapter was established in El 13 Paso in 1915, and nine more cities in the state gained branches 14 three years later; and

WHEREAS, In 1937, the Texas State Conference of NAACP Units 15 16 was established under the leadership of A. Maceo Smith, and the organization gained traction as a sustained, statewide movement; 17 the conference expanded rapidly during and after World War II, 18 reaching a membership of almost 30,000 people in more than 100 19 20 branches; early victories included Supreme Court cases that ended 21 Democratic white primary elections and secured the admission of Heman M. Sweatt to The University of Texas School of Law; public 22 23 school desegregation cases dragged on longer, tied up in the courts for years while the NAACP confronted government retaliation; and 24

1

## H.R. No. 201

1 WHEREAS, Texas branches of the NAACP have continued to build 2 on the accomplishments of the Civil Rights Era; initiatives include 3 litigating redistricting cases and targeting discriminatory 4 practices in employment, housing, and the criminal justice system; 5 since 1991, that work has been guided by Gary Bledsoe, president of 6 the Texas NAACP; and

7 WHEREAS, For more than eight decades, the Texas State 8 Conference of NAACP Units has advanced the cause of social justice, 9 and through their dedication as champions of equal rights, members 10 across the state are furthering the vital goals of this 11 trailblazing organization; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 2019, as Texas NAACP Day at the State Capitol and extend to the members of the Texas State Conference of NAACP Units sincere best wishes for a memorable and productive visit to Austin.

Reynolds

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

## H.R. No. 201

Oliverson

H.R. No. 201

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 201 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House