H.R. No. 204

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Culberson County are gathering in
 Austin to celebrate Culberson County Day at the State Capitol; and

3 WHEREAS, Situated among the rugged, scenic mountains of the 4 Trans-Pecos region of West Texas, the county was originally home to 5 the fierce Mescalero Apaches; in 1859, a cavalry outpost was 6 established at the Van Horn Wells, one of the few reliable sources 7 of water in the area; the last major Native American battle in the 8 State of Texas was fought in the region in 1881, at the mouth of Bass 9 Canyon in the Sierra Diablo mountains; and

10 WHEREAS, The town of Van Horn was founded in the late 1870s, 11 and in 1881, it became a stop on the Texas and Pacific Railway; and

12 WHEREAS, Formed from El Paso County in 1911, Culberson County 13 was named for Civil War veteran and former U.S. congressman David 14 B. Culberson; Van Horn, by now a prosperous shipping point for 15 cattle, became the county seat; in 1953, oil was discovered in the 16 region, and the county later became a major oil producer in the 17 state; and

WHEREAS, Today, tourists are drawn to the area by its austere beauty and colorful history; the county is the gateway to Guadalupe Mountains National Park, a haven for hikers and nature lovers and home to the highest mountain in Texas, Guadalupe Peak; hunters are drawn by the mule deer, pronghorn antelope, and upland game birds; and

24

WHEREAS, Blessed with great natural beauty and a rich

1

H.R. No. 204

1 history, Culberson County is home to outstanding Texans who may 2 indeed take great pride in their unique contribution to the 3 heritage and culture of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize Culberson County Day at the State
Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes
for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Nevárez

H.R. No. 204

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 204 was adopted by the House on February 6, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House