RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Mental Illness Awareness Day is being hosted at the
- 2 State Capitol on February 6, 2019, by the Mental Illness Awareness
- 3 Coalition in an effort to raise public consciousness of an issue
- 4 impacting the lives of millions of Texans; and
- 5 WHEREAS, While it is estimated that one in every five
- 6 Americans suffers from mental illness, a higher rate than that of
- 7 cancer, diabetes, or heart disease, many conditions can be managed
- 8 effectively with treatment, making it possible for patients to lead
- 9 healthy and meaningful lives; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The State of Texas is home to organizations that are
- 11 committed to improving services and support for persons with mental
- 12 illness; among those organizations are the National Alliance on
- 13 Mental Illness of Texas and the Depression and Bipolar Support
- 14 Alliance of Texas, which together form the Mental Illness Awareness
- 15 Coalition; through education and advocacy, these groups endeavor to
- 16 promote treatment and prevention, eliminate the stigma of mental
- 17 illness, increase housing opportunities, and advance investment in
- 18 mental health programs with the goal of maximizing outcomes for as
- 19 many Texans as possible; and
- WHEREAS, Mental health is fundamental to the overall health
- 21 and well-being of all people, and Mental Illness Awareness Day
- 22 provides an opportunity to bring attention to this vitally
- 23 important matter and to the commendable efforts of those
- 24 organizations and advocates who are working to ensure that all

H.R. No. 211

- 1 Texans have access to mental health services; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize February 6, 2019, as Mental Illness
- 4 Awareness Day at the State Capitol and encourage all Texans to learn
- 5 more about mental health conditions and their treatment and
- 6 prevention.

Price

H.R. No. 211

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen	Guerra Guillen	Oliverson Ortega
Allison	Gutierrez	Pacheco
Anchia	Harless	Paddie
Anderson	Harris Hefner	Parker
Ashby Bailes	Hernandez	Patterson Paul
Beckley	Herrero	Perez
Bell of Kaufman	Hinojosa	Phelan
Bell of Montgomery	Holland	Price
Bernal	Howard	Ramos
Biedermann	Huberty	Raney
Blanco	Hunter	Raymond
Bohac	Israel	Reynolds
Bonnen of Galveston	E. Johnson of Dallas	Rodriguez
Bowers	J. Johnson of Dallas	Romero, Jr.
Buckley	Johnson of Harris	Rose
Bucy Burns	Kacal	Rosenthal Sanford
Burrows	King of Hemphill King of Parker	Schaefer
Button	King of Idiker King of Uvalde	Shaheen
Cain	Klick	Sheffield
Calanni	Krause	Sherman, Sr.
Canales	Kuempel	Shine
Capriglione	Lambert	Smith
Clardy	Landgraf	Smithee
Cole	Lang	Springer
Coleman	Larson	Stephenson
Collier	Leach	Stickland
Cortez Craddick	Leman	Stucky Swanson
Cyrier	Longoria Lozano	Talarico
Darby	Lucio III	Thierry
Davis of Dallas	Martinez	Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris	Martinez Fischer	Thompson of Harris
Dean	Metcalf	Tinderholt
Deshotel	Meyer	Toth
Dominguez	Meza	Turner of Dallas
Dutton	Middleton	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miller	VanDeaver
Flynn	Minjarez	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo Geren	Morrison Muñoz, Jr.	White Wilson
Gervin-Hawkins	Murphy	Wray
Goldman	Murr	Wu
González of Dallas	Neave	Zedler
González of El Paso	Nevárez	Zerwas
Goodwin	Noble	Zwiener

	H.R. No. 211
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 211 was 6, 2019, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House