RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Elizabeth Nyore demonstrated exceptional kindness 2 and compassion by coming to the aid of an injured Rowlett police 3 officer, Sergeant Greg Baldwin, in October 2018; and WHEREAS, A 22-year veteran of law enforcement, Sergeant 4 5 Baldwin was engaged in a foot chase with a man with outstanding warrants when he suffered a fall; the incident resulted in severe 6 7 leg and hip injuries that caused agonizing pain to the officer; and WHEREAS, After hearing sirens and sounds of distress outside 8 9 of her home, Liz Nyore immediately rushed to Sergeant Baldwin's side and did her best to comfort and calm the officer until 10 11 paramedics arrived on the scene; now recovering from his injury, 12 Sergeant Baldwin has returned to work in an administrative role for the Rowlett Police Department, and he looks forward to getting back 13 14 on patrol as soon as possible; and WHEREAS, Ms. Nyore, a Rowlett resident who proudly became a 15 United States citizen in 2012, went out of her way to assist the 16 officer, despite having preconceptions about law enforcement that 17 18 she carried over from her upbringing in Nigeria; she credits her

need; and
WHEREAS, Liz Nyore's act of good citizenship is a testament
to the invaluable role of caring members of the public in making our
communities stronger and safer, and she is indeed deserving of

response on that day to the example of her mother, an orthopedic

nurse, from whom she learned the importance of helping strangers in

19

20

H.R. No. 212

- 1 special recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commend Elizabeth Nyore for providing comfort to
- 4 an injured police officer and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 5 the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Ms. Nyore as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Bowers

H.R. No. 212

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Ramos Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Coleman Stephenson Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Wilson Wray Geren Murphy Gervin-Hawkins Murr Wu Goldman Neave Zedler González of Dallas Nevárez Zerwas

Zwiener

Noble

González of El Paso

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 212
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 212 was 11, 2019, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House