H.R. No. 225

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, HCA Healthcare marked its 50th anniversary in 2018, 2 offering a welcome opportunity to recognize the organization for 3 its vital contributions to the health and well-being of the Lone 4 Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, One of the first hospital companies in the United 6 States, HCA was founded in 1968 by Dr. Thomas Frist Sr., Dr. Thomas 7 Frist Jr., and Jack Massey; seeking to provide health care to 8 rapidly growing communities across the nation, the company quickly 9 expanded, building new hospitals in underserved areas, buying and 10 upgrading existing facilities, and collaborating to manage 11 hospitals for other owners; and

WHEREAS, Today, HCA has 185 hospitals and 119 freestanding surgery centers in the U.S. and the United Kingdom, and it employs more than 265,000 individuals; furthermore, over 60,000 people work at the company's 57 Texas hospitals, which encompass the Woman's Hospital of Texas, Medical City Healthcare, Methodist Healthcare, St. David's HealthCare, and Las Palmas Del Sol Healthcare; and

WHEREAS, Consistently named one of the World's Most Ethical Companies by the Ethisphere Institute, HCA gives back to the community by providing charity care, uninsured discounts, and other uncompensated care; in 1982, it formed the HCA Foundation to fund medical education, the arts, and community service, and it later established the Hope Fund to assist HCA employees in cases of extended illness, injury, or disaster; and

1

H.R. No. 225

1 WHEREAS, After half a century, HCA Healthcare continues to be 2 an essential resource for countless Texans, and its dedicated staff 3 and administrators may take immense pride in the company's long 4 tradition of excellence; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 6 Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of HCA 7 Healthcare and extend to all those associated with the company 8 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for HCA Healthcare as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Thierry

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 225

Oliverson

H.R. No. 225

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 225 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House