H.R. No. 239

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Captain Ralph Conner retired from Gainesville Fire
- 2 Rescue in January 2019, after more than 37 years of exemplary
- 3 service to the city; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Ralph Conner first joined the department on October
- 5 27, 1981, and worked at the East Side Fire Station while completing
- 6 the fire academy at the Sherman Fire Department; initially a
- 7 driver/apparatus operator, he rose through the ranks, receiving
- 8 promotion to lieutenant in 1998 and captain in 2009; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In 1995, Captain Conner was named the Gainesville
- 10 Fire Rescue Firefighter of the Year, and he received two Medals of
- 11 Valor from the department, one for a high-angle rescue and another
- 12 for the rescue of a victim trapped in an apartment fire; moreover,
- 13 he helped train many younger colleagues who went on to enjoy
- 14 successful careers as firefighters; and
- WHEREAS, During his service with the department, Captain
- 16 Conner earned a master fire certificate and credentials as a fire
- 17 inspector and plans examiner; he also attended Collin College,
- 18 where he graduated magna cum laude with an associate degree in fire
- 19 protection technology; and
- WHEREAS, Ralph Conner has demonstrated an exceptional
- 21 commitment to protecting the lives and property of his fellow
- 22 citizens, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a career well
- 23 spent as he embarks on the next exciting chapter of his life; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 239

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Captain Ralph Conner on his
- 3 retirement from Gainesville Fire Rescue and extend to him sincere
- 4 best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Captain Conner as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Springer

TT	Γ	7\ T	239
н	R	NO	739

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 239 was adopted by the House on March 6, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House