H.R. No. 249

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of Kenedy County are gathering in Austin
- 2 on March 5, 2019, for Kenedy County Day at the State Capitol; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Situated along the Gulf of Mexico in South Texas,
- 4 this region of coastal brush and grassland was first inhabited some
- 5 11,000 years ago by hunter-gatherers who lived off game, wild
- 6 fruits, seeds, and roots; later, it was home to the Coahuiltecan and
- 7 Lipan Apache peoples until the late 1700s and the arrival of the
- 8 Spanish, who established large cattle ranches; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Anglo-Americans began to settle in the area in the
- 10 1800s, and the famous King Ranch was founded by Mifflin Kenedy and
- 11 Richard King; the ranch eventually grew to 825,000 acres; named for
- 12 the cofounder of the King Ranch, Kenedy County was established in
- 13 1921 as part of the reorganization of Willacy, Cameron, and Hidalgo
- 14 Counties, and the county seat was situated in Sarita, where the King
- 15 Ranch had its headquarters; and
- WHEREAS, Today approximately 400 residents continue to ranch
- 17 and raise cattle, as well as work in the oil and gas industry; Padre
- 18 Island National Seashore runs along the gulf coast boundary, and
- 19 visitors are drawn by the fine opportunities for hunting, fishing,
- 20 and bird-watching; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Blessed with spacious skies, vast ranchlands, and
- 22 miles of coastland, Kenedy County has played a memorable role in the
- 23 story of Texas, and its residents may indeed take great pride in
- 24 their history as they look forward to a future bright with promise;

H.R. No. 249

- 1 now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize March 5, 2019, as Kenedy County Day at
- 4 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
- 5 best wishes for a meaningful and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Guillen

TT	_	7. T	249
	-	NO	<i>)</i> / I U

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 249 was adopted by the House on March 5, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House