H.R. No. 250

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dedicated members of the Grand Prairie Unity 2 Coalition are gathering on February 21, 2019, for the group's 14th 3 annual Unity Fund-Raiser Banquet; and

WHEREAS, GPUC was established by city council member Richard
Fregoe in 2004 with the worthwhile goal of promoting awareness,
inclusiveness, and community spirit; and

7 WHEREAS, Over the years, the diverse membership of GPUC has promoted cross-cultural understanding through its participation in 8 9 many events, including the Martin Luther King Jr. Day parade and program, the Cinco de Mayo parade, a Native American powwow, and the 10 11 annual Juneteenth parade; the group has also collaborated with area 12 businesses and with such organizations as the NAACP and LULAC; as a result of the coalition's contributions, the City of Grand Prairie 13 14 was acknowledged as an Inclusive City by the National League of Cities in 2006; and 15

16 WHEREAS, The annual Unity Banquet is the organization's 17 signature event, and the evening will feature as keynote speaker 18 former representative Rodney Anderson; and

WHEREAS, Through their commitment to furthering acceptance and diversity, the members of the Grand Prairie Unity Coalition are helping to build a stronger and more vibrant community, and their accomplishments are indeed deserving of recognition; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

1

Legislature hereby honor the Grand Prairie Unity Coalition on the occasion of its 14th annual Unity Fund-Raiser Banquet and extend to the members of this noteworthy organization sincere best wishes for continued success with their important work; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the coalition as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

> Turner of Tarrant Meza González of Dallas Stickland Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 250

H.R. No. 250

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 250 was adopted by the House on February 13, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House