H.R. No. 253

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Many dedicated officers and honorably retired 2 officers of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department are visiting Austin on February 19, 2019, to celebrate Texas Game Warden Day in 3 conjunction with the annual Texas Game Warden and Game Warden Peace 4 5 Officer Association Conference at the State Capitol; and 6 WHEREAS, Since 1895, when the office of Fish and Oyster Commissioner was created by the 24th Texas Legislature, game 7 wardens have played an essential role in wildlife conservation; the 8 Fish and Oyster Commission was given jurisdiction in 1899 over all 9 public waters, including freshwater streams, lakes, and ponds, and 10 11 its purview was soon extended to shrimping and hunting; and 12 WHEREAS, The name of the agency later became the Game, Fish, 13 and Oyster Commission, and it changed again several times to 14 reflect the expansion of its mission until, in 1963, it merged with the State Parks Board to form the current agency; in 1919, there 15 were just six wardens, but their numbers grew as their duties 16

law violations; and

WHEREAS, In 1971, the legislature formally recognized as

peace officers all law enforcement officers within the Texas Parks

and Wildlife Department; the state is served today by some 550 game

wardens, whose responsibilities have grown to include

continued to evolve, encompassing such tasks as the promotion of

recreational water safety and the apprehension of criminals

involved in a range of illegal activities in addition to wildlife

17

18

19

H.R. No. 253

- 1 participation in homeland security initiatives on the state's
- 2 border with Mexico; and
- 3 WHEREAS, For well over a century, game wardens have enforced
- 4 natural resource conservation laws in the Lone Star State, and
- 5 their vital contributions have earned the deep appreciation of all
- 6 Texans; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby recognize February 19, 2019, as Texas Game
- 9 Warden Day at the State Capitol and honor these outstanding
- 10 professionals as they commemorate 124 years of public service.

Kuempel

## H.R. No. 253

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Ramos Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Button Shaheen Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Coleman Stephenson Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Wilson Wray Geren Murphy Gervin-Hawkins Murr Wu Goldman Neave Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Noble

González of Dallas

Goodwin

González of El Paso

	H.R. No. 253
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 253 was	adopted by the House on February
19, 2019, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House