H.R. No. 254

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Lupe Morin of Austin is retiring as executive 2 director of the Hispanic Women's Network of Texas on February 28, 3 2019, concluding a noteworthy career that has spanned 35 years in 4 the public and nonprofit sectors; and

WHEREAS, In 2006, Ms. Morin took the helm of the Hispanic 5 Women's Network, a statewide nonprofit organization; she also 6 served in 2006 and 2012 as interim president and CEO of the Greater 7 Austin Hispanic Chamber of Commerce; previously, she enjoyed a long 8 tenure with the City of Austin, serving as assistant director of 9 administrative services in Health and Human Services for nine years 10 before becoming deputy director of Neighborhood Housing and 11 12 Community Development in 2001; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Morin was the first in her family to graduate from high school; after completing her bachelor's degree in sociology at Texas State University, she was hired as a coordinator of student academic affairs by The University of Texas at Austin; subsequently, she was employed as a personnel specialist for the City of Denton, and from 1984 to 1991, she was human resources manager for the Austin Police Department; and

20 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to her community, Ms. Morin has 21 served on the Hispanic Quality of Life Task Force and the Austin 22 Independent School District Community Bond Oversight Committee; 23 among many accolades, she has received the 2017 HABLA Leadership 24 Award and the 2016 Greater Austin Hispanic Chamber Lifetime

1

H.R. No. 254

1 Achievement Award; and

2 WHEREAS, Lupe Morin has greatly benefited her fellow citizens 3 through her professional accomplishments and civic contributions, 4 and she has earned the respect and admiration of all who are 5 fortunate enough to know her; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 7 Legislature hereby congratulate Lupe Morin on her retirement as 8 executive director of the Hispanic Women's Network of Texas and 9 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be 10 it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for Ms. Morin as an expression of high regard by the Texas 13 House of Representatives.

Israel

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Noble

Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Ranev Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

## H.R. No. 254

Oliverson

H.R. No. 254

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 254 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House