H.R. No. 261

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Many proud citizens of Dimmit County are visiting
Austin on February 12, 2019, to celebrate Dimmit County Day at the
State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Dimmit County was named after Philip Dimmitt, one of the framers of the Goliad Declaration of Independence; established in 1858, it was formally organized in 1880 with Carrizo Springs as its county seat; the town flourished, and by 1890, the county was home to nearly 100 farms and ranches, averaging over 4,000 acres in size; and

WHEREAS, In the first decades of the 20th century, the use of underground water facilitated the introduction of commercial agriculture, bringing new settlers and soaring land values; the long growing season and new irrigation methods combined to make the county one of the most prolific vegetable-growing areas in the country, and it gained recognition as part of the Texas Winter Garden Region; and

WHEREAS, Drought and the Great Depression took a toll on 17 agriculture in the county in the first half of the 20th century, but 18 vegetable farming rebounded following World War II; later, ranching 19 regained dominance in the economy, and oil and gas production 20 21 became increasingly important; the area continues to be known for its abundance of mineral resources, and investment in the Eagle 22 23 Ford Shale has brought rapid development and a rush of newcomers; 24 and

1

H.R. No. 261

1 WHEREAS, The people of Dimmit County take great pride in 2 their rich history as they work together to build an even brighter 3 future, and it is indeed fitting that they be honored for their 4 contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, 5 be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2019, as Dimmit County 8 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation 9 sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and informative stay in 10 Austin.

King of Uvalde

H.R. No. 261

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 261 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House