H.R. No. 282

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of Terrell County are gathering in Austin
to celebrate Terrell County Day at the State Capitol; and

3 WHEREAS, Located in southwestern Texas near Big Bend, Terrell 4 County was established in 1905 and encompasses 2,357 square miles 5 of rocky terrain that is bounded on the south by the Rio Grande and 6 on the northeast by the Pecos River; this picturesque region sits on 7 the Stockton Plateau, and the landscape features gently rolling 8 plains and mountainous regions with dramatic canyons and valleys; 9 and

WHEREAS, After the Brown-Bassett gas field was discovered in 11 1957, oil and gas exploration in the region quickly gained 12 prominence; today, the petroleum industry continues to play a vital 13 role in the county's economy, as do tourism, hunting leases, and 14 ranching; most of the area's agricultural revenue comes from sheep 15 and goats, which are valued for wool and mohair; beef and pecans are 16 also important local products; and

WHEREAS, Terrell County attracts hikers, river runners, and hunters with its scenic views and varied wildlife; the county seat of Sanderson, known as the "Cactus Capital of Texas," celebrates the region's unique plant life at the annual Prickly Pear Pachanga, and other attractions include the Terrell County Memorial Museum, which showcases range, railroad, and community memorabilia; and

23 WHEREAS, The people of Terrell County may take great pride in 24 their rich history as they work together to build an even brighter

1

H.R. No. 282 1 future, and it is indeed fitting to honor them and their unique 2 region of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 4 Legislature hereby recognize Terrell County Day at the State 5 Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes 6 for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Nevárez

H.R. No. 282

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 282 was adopted by the House on March 13, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House