## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Cypress Christian School baseball team has built 2 an enduring tradition of success, and in 2018, it proved itself one of the top teams in the state by winning the Texas Association of 3 Private and Parochial Schools Division III state championship; and 4 WHEREAS, Over the course of that unforgettable season, the 5 Warriors won the district title and continued their outstanding 6 7 play in the postseason, defeating the teams from San Marcos Academy, John Paul II Catholic High School, and The Woodlands 8 9 Christian Academy to advance to the championship game; on May 17, the members of the Cypress Christian ball club were crowned state 10 11 champs after a decisive 11-0 victory over Lubbock Christian School; 12 and WHEREAS, The Warriors also claimed the state title in 2014, 13 and the team has qualified for the playoffs in numerous other years; 14 moreover, a multitude of Cypress Christian players have earned 15 16 all-district and all-state honors, and a number of Warriors have earned athletic scholarships to play baseball at the collegiate 17 level; and 18 WHEREAS, Benefiting from the able leadership of head coach 19 David Swan, the talented student-athletes of the Cypress Christian 20 baseball team have distinguished themselves through their hard 21 work, determination, and commitment to excellence, and they are 22 23 indeed worthy of special recognition; now, therefore, be it 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

H.R. No. 312

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the Cypress Christian School
- 2 baseball team for winning the 2018 TAPPS Division III state
- 3 championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff
- 4 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Oliverson

H.R. No. 312

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 312 was adopted by the House on February 13, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House