H.R. No. 315

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A full and generous life drew to a close with the
death of former San Augustine County sheriff John Matthew
Cartwright on January 19, 2019, at the age of 88; and

WHEREAS, The son of Baxter and Anna Cartwright, John Matthew Cartwright was born on July 22, 1930, in San Augustine and grew up with a brother, Baxter Cartwright Jr.; and

7 WHEREAS, Mr. Cartwright enjoyed the love and support of his wife, Barbara Ann, and they shared a rewarding marriage until her 8 passing in 2013; he took great pride in his children, John, Mark, 9 Robert, Michael, and Sylvia, and he had the pleasure of seeing his 10 11 family qrow to include numerous grandchildren and 12 great-grandchildren; and

13 WHEREAS, Answering his nation's call to duty, Mr. Cartwright 14 served in the U.S. Navy; after working as a police officer for Nacogdoches, he returned to his hometown and joined the city's 15 16 police department, where he was soon appointed chief, a position he held until his retirement; he was then elected sheriff of San 17 Augustine County and served for several terms before retiring 18 again; he also sat on the San Augustine City Council and owned and 19 20 operated a dry cleaning business; and

21 WHEREAS, A devoted family man and a respected peace officer, 22 John Matthew Cartwright dedicated himself to the community he 23 loved, and he leaves behind a record of service that his family can 24 remember with pride; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 315

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of John Matthew 3 Cartwright and extend heartfelt sympathy to his family and many 4 friends; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of John 8 Matthew Cartwright.

Ashby

H.R. No. 315

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 315 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 13, 2019.

Chief Clerk of the House