H.R. No. 318

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Roy Eaton of Decatur retired as publisher of the
- 2 Wise County Messenger at the end of 2018, concluding a noteworthy
- 3 45-year tenure at the helm of the newspaper; and
- WHEREAS, A Decatur native, Mr. Eaton was still a Texas
- 5 Christian University undergrad when a Fort Worth radio station
- 6 hired him as a part-time reporter and then promoted him to news
- 7 director; he went on to become news director at the Dallas-Fort
- 8 Worth NBC radio affiliate and, later, a news anchor for the local
- 9 NBC television station; in 1973, he returned to his hometown with
- 10 his wife, Jeannine, and they purchased the nearly century-old Wise
- 11 County Messenger; under his leadership, it won more than 150 awards
- 12 for excellence in news coverage, advertising, and design; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Eaton has served his profession in numerous
- 14 capacities; in 1992, he was elected to the board of the National
- 15 Newspaper Association, and he went on to serve as president of that
- 16 organization as well as of the Texas Press Association and the Texas
- 17 Newspaper Foundation; the recipient of myriad accolades, he was
- 18 inducted into the inaugural class of the Texas Newspaper Hall of
- 19 Fame; and
- WHEREAS, Deeply committed to his community, Mr. Eaton was
- 21 named 1980 Citizen of the Year for his work in developing a
- 22 countywide emergency medical service system; he successfully
- 23 advocated for a Decatur community college campus and a \$5 million
- 24 conference center; among numerous leadership roles, he was

H.R. No. 318

- 1 president of the Decatur Chamber of Commerce, chair of the Wise
- 2 Health System, chief of the Decatur Fire Department, and a director
- 3 of the North Central Texas Council of Governments; he was also an
- 4 announcer for the Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo for more than four
- 5 decades; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Roy Eaton has exemplified the highest ideals of the
- 7 journalism profession, informing and educating his readers while
- 8 playing a vital role in the life of his community, and in so doing,
- 9 he has earned the deep respect and appreciation of all who are
- 10 fortunate enough to know him; now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate Roy Eaton on his retirement as
- 13 publisher of the Wise County Messenger and extend to him sincere
- 14 best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for Mr. Eaton as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

King of Parker

H.R. No. 318

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Oliverson Guillen Allen Ortega Pacheco Allison Gutierrez Anchia Harless Paddie Anderson Harris Parker Hefner Patterson Ashby Bailes Hernandez Paul Beckley Herrero Perez Bell of Kaufman Phelan Hinojosa Bell of Montgomery Holland Price Bernal Ramos Howard Huberty Biedermann Raney Blanco Hunter Raymond Israel Reynolds Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Buckley Rose Bucy Kacal Rosenthal Burns King of Hemphill Sanford King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Schaefer Shaheen Button Klick Sheffield Cain Calanni Krause Sherman, Sr. Canales Kuempel Shine Capriglione Lambert Smith Clardy Smithee Landgraf Cole Springer Lang Coleman Stephenson Larson Collier Leach Stickland Cortez Leman Stucky Craddick Longoria Swanson Lozano Talarico Cyrier Darby Lucio III Thierry Davis of Dallas Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Metcalf Tinderholt Dean Deshotel Meyer Toth Turner of Dallas Dominguez Meza Dutton Middleton Turner of Tarrant Farrar Miller VanDeaver Minjarez Vo Fierro Flynn Walle Moody Frank White Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Wilson Wray Geren Murphy Gervin-Hawkins Murr Wu

Zedler

Zerwas

Zwiener

Neave

Noble

Nevárez

Goldman

Goodwin

González of Dallas

González of El Paso

	H.R. No. 318
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 318 was 13, 2019, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House