By: VanDeaver H.R. No. 323

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Wake Forest University School of Divinity in

2 Winston-Salem, North Carolina, is celebrating the 20th anniversary

3 of its founding in August 2019; and

4 WHEREAS, A graduate professional school of the nationally

5 recognized Wake Forest University, the School of Divinity seeks to

6 prepare religious leaders with the theological, spiritual, and

7 practical foundation necessary to fulfill their vocational duties

8 as agents of justice, reconciliation, and compassion; the school

9 upholds the value of faithful civic engagement through an

10 institutional commitment to establishing justice and building

11 strong communities, as well as to responsible stewardship at both

12 the local and global levels; and

WHEREAS, Numerous alumni of the Wake Forest University School

14 of Divinity currently serve in congregations and positions of

15 service across the Lone Star State; Texans have played important

16 roles in shaping the school since its establishment, including its

17 founding dean, Bill J. Leonard, as well as three members of the

18 faculty; moreover, the school bears the lasting imprint of the late

19 professor James M. Dunn, a proud Texan who championed religious

20 liberty and liberty of conscience throughout his long and

21 distinguished career in public life; and

22 WHEREAS, The Wake Forest University School of Divinity has

23 enriched Texas communities through the outstanding work of its

24 faculty, students, and alumni, and it is indeed worthy of

H.R. No. 323

- 1 recognition as it marks this important milestone in its history;
- 2 now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the 20th anniversary of the Wake
- 5 Forest University School of Divinity and express sincere gratitude
- 6 for its service to citizens and communities in Texas; and, be it
- 7 further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.